Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-24 - 8:53 a.m.

The big learning point today was how to make mp3s. I have been listening to more and more of these over the last week. Also I have been wrestling with transferring a guitar part to Mark � I tried zipping it down and it was still enormouse � too big for the e-mail. On top of that I am really pleased with the mp3 that I have put up on the Forum � Graham Bond, John McLaughlin, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker in the summer of 1963 clearly demonstrating how avant-jazz became R&B. So � yesterday I finally got some shareware and generated some of these files. The first that I let escape was the trio version of Fifths � which I sent to Peter Chatterton to see if he could play it. He quickly mailed back to say that it was fine.

I imagine the first destination for my mp3s (besides some lucky people) is going to my Forum spaces at www.kwase-kwaza.org. I have a vague idea about collecting together archival material around certain common musical themes.

Robin, Peter and I have been bouncing ideas around about where to go next with Music for the Highveld music projects � I think we have come up with a directio that makes functional sense but also generates some inspiration. I have bounced it off Gilbert Isbin and also Pete Crowther � a singer guitarist from Cambridge days. Pete rang up to ask if I wanted to go and see Kate Rushby � answer �yes�.

Gilbert mailed with the details of the next CD which is coming across the North Sea. I am really looking forward to this.

I don�t seem to be able to shake off my Boulez-beating phase. I got out some Cathy Bell vocal tracks and loaded them up into Wave and began to cut and paste. In my overblown way I think I have now got a Boulez version which is about the law of the excluded middle � it includes some fragments from C Bell, Robin and Dusty Springfield � whoops better watch what I say next. This �project� is really sprawling. I have three versions of B-b on Minidisc which I am mulling over and at least two on the machine in the process of development.

Did I mention the AIDS book to educate children project which Regan von Schweitzer drew my attention to. I have put a couple of pieces up on the KK news section about this � it is such a great idea.

previous - next