Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-11 - 6:31 p.m.

Its tempting to try and go for something solemn - but the piece on the front of The Guardian is so good - probably the best thing is to point everyone at that.

Also some great news. Derek Ridgers mailed to say he had become a grandfather and include a picture of his granddaughter Ella. Derek has always been very focused on children ever since I have known him and that is a long long while.

In fact as I drove over Battersea Bridge today I was thinking of how we meet (again) not far from that point. I lived in Beaufort Street in 1976 and I bumped into him and Joanne on Kings Rd near there - he was out documenting the culture. I hadnt seen him for about 5 years.

Gilbert mailed about the CD - very encouraging - there is a lot to work on - this is incredibly exciting.

Someone at Cambridge wants to talk to James about studying history - thats thanks to his Physics teacher - Mr Rutland. James had dinner with him on Monday and he said he would ring some people he knew there. Mr R is like the old style teachers I remember from my day. He comes from Bhutan and is slightly scary but very very into his subject - the kind of person who can be very inspiring. He is quite mysterious and strange stories circulate eg about his links to the nobility in Bhutan.

Jazz FM was good as I drove into work. E-mails were coming in from all over the world and the DJ was hitting just the right tone.

previous - next