Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-28 - 6:16 a.m.

Peter Chatterton was right that I have been too limited in thinking about the News section on www.kwase-kwaza.org. The available news articles off the �general� sites have been so interesting and have reflected how rapidly the situation is changing and so I have wanted to use this to give the site currency and authority. Anyway, yesterday I edited down a report that Bishop David gave me about a month ago summarising a number of the home-based care projects that Lynn is involved with and posted on the news section of the site. I also have an e-mail from her describing what she did in the couple of weeks after she visited the UK in June which I will put up.

I got an update from Jeroen Berkens about the distribution of his ND bio � A Skin Too Few and put that up in the news section � this is the first music news item on the site. It contains about the legal wrangling over the release of Molly Drake�s music � so it makes quite a good opener. I mailed Jeroen about it � by a chapter of accidents I sat next to him at the premier of the film at the Paradiso in Amsterdam.

I also started to put an analytical article I wrote a while back for the ND site � PINK MOON: ARRIVALS AND DEPARTURES. The ND connection seems to be effective in bringing in volume and with the the search engines beginning to read the site this looked like an opportunity.

I realised that I could use Microsoft Picture It to make my own A4 flyers � I copied an image off the website and added a headline and an action line.

Cleveland Williams rang about his recital in Guildford on 9 November. Now is the time to start publicising this � this has gone into the News section too.

Yvonne and I went to the Serpentine Gallery in Hyde Park to see Gilbert and George�s exhibition �Rude Words�. These pieces were done in 1977 and because they are based round rude words they have never been fully displayed in the UK. I recommend the exhibition.

G&G come from the generation which revolutionised British sculpture and studied sculpture at St Martins in the late 60s under Anthony Caro. Another leading figure from this group is Richard Long, whose work I like very much.

The works in Rude Words are each a four by four grid of photographs. Each grid takes it title from a photograph of a piece of grafitti in the East End. There are also photographs of G&G plus shots of London centred around the area where they live. Most photos are black and white but some are tinted red.

From this stance this stuff looks massively influential � not least as far as the Britart generation is concerned � also in the way that the East End has become a fashionable location like the Lower East Side in NYC. It also reminded me of Derek Ridger�s 1970s work documenting the punk revolution which is also black and white photographs taken in 1976 and 1977. The graphic elements and grafitti parallel developments in New York not least Basquiat. Of course London has changed a lot since these photos were taken.

We bought some postcards � its great to have a cultural excuse to send someone a card with �Buggur� on it. In fact I got several other interesting cards like a 1953 card of Cage�s Music for Piano � four staves and one note at the end marked �mute�. What can I say ? All that meaning for just 50p. There was also a Bruce Nauman card with �Normal Desires� � from Frankfurt. Plus a conceptual card by John Baldesari which says:

A TWO DIMENSIONAL SURFACE WITHOUT ANY ARTICULATION IS A DEAD EXPERIENCE

In the bookshop I bought Degreuze on Leibniz and the Baroque � a lot more about this later. So what�s the connection between Leibniz and John Cage? They were both fascinated by the I Ching.

I listened to the new Linda Thompson album which has had mixed reviews. This gives me an opportunity to remind the world that I played a fews songs with her in the Summer of 1967. It�s a album which gives you what you see on the cover � straight down the line � just like you remember her sounding. All kinds of wonderful backing musicians crop up � many of them called Thompson � Danny and Richard � and some not � Gerry Donahue. Boy am I a sucker for that restrained virtuosity amongst the electric guitarists � so subtle with just the slightest hint of Fender in the timbre.

Gavin Gribbon mailed with news of Jeff Buckley recordings from before Grace about to astonish the world.

Have you heard that story about Jim Cary giving his hamster a Viking funeral at Malibu using the Apocalyspe Now soundtrack? You can forgive someone a lot for that.

previous - next