Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-14 - 6:21 a.m.

Vita and I drove over to Middlesex to pick up the Jake (Norwich Terrier) from my sister's house. We arrived early and so we looked in at a music shop on the Great West Road. I bought Vita a bass version of a Red Hot Chilli Peppers album - Californication. There's a very interesting new Tascam box which is a digital 4 track recorder with USB connections and MP3 utilities - at the moment its a bit out of my price range at �450. I also asked about some strange Aria guitars with a central block of wood and soft covered frame.

Dog was excited and smaller than we remembered. Andrea has not long bought a digital camera and has some good pix of him. We mailed one back to this PC - now if only I can find how to put it up on this page.

Andrea had been on interesting holiday - a hotel on a boat travelling down the Soane and Rhone to Marseilles.

In the afternoon I went to Cobham to order a new showerhead. Fortunately there was a new (to me) music shop just down the road. I bought some late Satie piano music - everyone seems to be telling me to take an interest in this stuff and it was a snip at �6.50.

Began to develop the postFifths material - I went back to the solo MD flute line and experimented with grunge guitar and then the CZ101. Didnt record anything because it was time to cook supper. But there is a concept here - a minute long flute line looped to developing accompaniment. Miles did this first on Neffertitti.

I was interested to see what Robin said about my methods. Part of it is that I have always spent a lot of time jamming with records and the radio right from when I was a teenager. The Bugs Bower improv methodology I started with insisted that you learn licks in every key. There is a lot of advice against jamming with the radio - its meant to bad for your pitch and timing. Possibly the pitch side has affected me but I think you can sort timing if you practice rhythm walking down the street and when bored in meetings.

Peter mailed to say he liked the piece about Nelson Mandela that I put up on kwase-kwaza.org in the News section.

previous - next