Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-06-28 - 5:57 p.m.

I have been to Birmingham for a Board Meeting of the organisation I hope is going to give me a job. The meeting went well in terms of the developing concensus behind the project that best suits my background. But the need to change horses is growing as I am more and more in a position where I am moving forward the strategy at a much faster rate than the Department wants. The Department would like to keep its options open and appoint consultants to advise it independently. On the other hand my new lot are rapidly trying to occupy all the high ground and achieve first mover advantage - on today's evidence I would say, so far so good.

I got an Amiga 600 from one of my future collegaues - I think we agreed �40 for it. Some people may think this is mad but I would rather like to use it as a sound-design environment and also to do some programming in Amiga Basic. More of this in later installments.

I have made a CD of the BBC500plus/minus for Mark. I am trying not to take this too seriously. In fact I have thought of a second strategy for to exploit a dimension of the original that was rather suppressed in the first treatment.

I took my flute with me on this trip and spent a fair amount of time playing notes into my Seiko tuner - some long some short. I have a fantasy that there is a meditative practice in blowing. I ignore it most of the time - other times it looms large - but mostly attitude is "practice for what exactly?" in the sense that I can't find a good reason.

There is part of me that thinks that maybe the novel production path I took on "You Are Here" has a lot of potential and that some of the potential is to do with the flute.

Pay cheque arrived - maybe the law of induction is yet again confirmed. A past regularity can be confidently extrapolated into the future.

previous - next