Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-05-29 - 4:59 a.m.

I went to see a company called Gedas in Milton Keynes - met up with Stefan from Industry Forum at the station. Gedas is the business services part of VW which they have spun out as a freely trading entity to operate globally. They employ 300 at their MK site. We meet Maz Hafeez who knows the DTI slightly from the inside - a number of point of common interest quickly emerged so that was a worthwhile trip.

I didnt really enjoy all that train travel. It was quite early on in this job that I concluded that days which involved going to Waterloo, tube across London and then a rail journey North were just too wearing. That feeling has just got stronger with passing time. On the train I read the Cubasis manual more fully and learned some things I didnt know eg about the existence of the pool. I am still not clear about the onboard synth though or how to add new plug-ins. Mark - there is a digital recording capability in the Master Unit in the Cubasis suite that might be an alternative to Wavelab. It looks pretty good for grabbing WAVs from a CD too.

At Euston there is a new CD shop on the concourse. I got Jeff Buckley's Mystery White Boy for �7. I have Live at Sine, Grace, a 4 track CD single and the posthumous double. Having a third fourth or fifth version of some of the songs doesnt bother me in the slightest. In fact a piece I am working on at the moment has the opening vocalisation and guitar chords from the Sine Mojo Pin in it. This is the first time I have used a "grabbed" section like this. I feel OK about it in the context of that piece. Initial reactions to MWB are that it places JB in a post Nirvana context. The last track - Hallelujah is very moving. I first heard that song on BBC2 sung by John Cale - I could hardly believe it.

I went over to Quadrangle late afternoon. Its good fun to sit in a meeting room and look out the window at a Thames Barge on the river. We had just so much to talk about.

previous - next