Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-05-27 - 8:52 a.m.

Last night on Panorama Vincent White criticised Govt advertising especially the high level of spend in the first quarter of 2001. He showed a few clips from an earlier programme he had made about Conservative Govt advertising - which included some ads I had been involved in. Part of my role was to make the technical case for the scale of the advertising - its all about value chains. So that was our defence in those days against the Panorama case it was "really political". No one from the Labour Govt could be bothered to set out any kind of reply to the latest attacks even though they came from an ex Cabinet Secretary.

We went and saw Ruth and Stuart for lunch. Ruth and I were in the same class when we were five. They write textbooks for teaching English as a Foreign Languagae and are successful enough to rely on that now as their sole source of income. They have two dogs and so my dog had a great time. Ruth has just started making mosaics as a hobby. I discussed the likely volumes and unit royalties with them - they we were very helpful - it was an issue Graham has raised about the Academy.

Ruth had recently convened a meeting of 12 fellow pupils from her secondary school - and she has the fotos. Including one of Margaret - the woman that Mick Beck (avant bassoonist) and I went out with over thirty years ago. Discernibly the same person.

It was Trinity Sunday. I am working on the Trinity as a block of doctrine - it is potentially extremely radical although mostly ignored currently.

Mark's question about what software to archive old recordings with. Robin will probably have a much better answer than I. My first point is that I would archive to Minidisc because its cheap and reliable. But it does involve compression and I can see that may not be what is required. I like Wavelab - there may be a copy of Wavelab light bundled into Cubasis. It is certainly not worth paying �350 for the new Wavelab 4 unless Mark has other big plans. I have a Wavelab demo as well and I am becoming pretty addicted to the plug-ins in it - Wavelab Lite doesnt really have anything in the way of plug-ins. The demo array is more powerful than the ones which are in the Cubasis mixer - especially the compressor.

One of the things that I find quite inspiring is remixing old recordings in Wavelab - just applying various ambiences, modulations etc to existing stereo recordings of mine - but this may not what Mark has in mind.

I am getting on quite well with using the Cubasis arrangement editor on digitally recordings of what you might call "fills" - busked bits of guitar or flute. I have a couple of things on the go - or maybe three - its all a bit of a blur. My guess is that at least one of these will end up as part of music for maze walking.

previous - next