Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-05-05 - 7:15 a.m.

Great entry from Robin. Now what is the evolutionary pay-off from emotions I wonder?

Taize stuff came together - Pete phoned to say he could play (pheww), service sheets and photostats turned up and I found my collection of Fr Horn parts. I added a few more parts last night watching the Mo Mowlam show. This was cutting it fine.

I spent the morning walking the dog on the hill and doing the supermarket. I also managed to take a Wav copy from the Fire Sermon on Serious Music and set up a 7:4 loop with Cathy singing "burning burning burning" in WaveLab. I am listening now to what it has become - with D-Horn and flute overlay. I think it is part of a dyad on the Nightingale - maybe the title of that Dylan book is to blame. I am flirting with the idea of calling it Two Nightingales Burning but maybe that is too melodramatic. I added a flute line to the gtr and tuba version of Bekeley Square (again) - not much level on the first one although I think I will keep that as well.

Walked on the hill with the dog listening to the B Laswell mix of On the Corner - seems to me like a pretty straight remix. Kept on listening as I walked round Tesco's - still couldnt see what all the fuss was about.

Jake and I drove a little out of town and walked to Send lock on the Wey navigation. Although this is only a couple of miles downstream from Guildford it has a strong rural atmosphere. The navigation uses the contour of the hill that Sutton place is on and so it is slightly above the flood plane which is maybe a third of a mile across. The river is on the other side of the valley going past Send church and nothing has been built on the flood plane at all. It reminded me of East Anglia but there are probably geological reasons for this - these are the layers which are younger than the chalk. There eras when the grassland began to appear and with it the importance of community.

It was sunny and you could see upriver to the North Downs - mostly wooded here. There were few people around. This is now almost the most isolated section of the Wey Navigation - especially with the appearance of a business park upstream near Losely threatening to join Goldalming and Guildford.

The Edge of Autumn certainly is a powerful piece in my view - the first of Andrew's that I heard and it reminded me in parts of Gil Evans.

I must reply to James.

Up on the hill with Jake it was so clear but a cold wind from the North East on that side of the hill. You could see the planes landing at Heathrow, the tall buildings in London, Crystal Palace, a hill near Henley and I would think almost to Winchester. We spent a long while sniffing around getting the lie of the land.

previous - next