Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-02-22 - 7:52 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece.


On the lower widget there is a new tune - Dusky District Chance Meeting.

On Thursday evening I went to Cass Business School to witness an interview with the founder of Kano computers. He had come with the idea of using the Raspberry Pi as the basis for a computer kit which children could genuinely involve themselves in making. He believes that computer programming is a profoundly creative activity and wants lots of children to share that inspiration. He had used Kickstarter to raise much more than his target. It was an inspiring event. I met the Reader in Digital Marketing from CBS who had led the Wednesday night class.

Friday was the night for Roundhouse Rising and the return of Sophie J to open UK gigs. Larry asked if I could make some videos. I was really impressed with the way the Cooolpix coped creating big files which the large SD card can cope with. To load them into Facebook I have to convert them to mp4 via Movie Maker. The videos enable a much more balanced assessment of what the band is up to with the addition of the drummer. I ate at the Roundhouse - smoked duck and then rabbit. Not cheap but very tasty. I also liked Sophie Blackmore - a singer accompanied by her brother on guitar.

The M-audio Venom has arrived and I am slowly learning my way round it. Lots more to discover - looking at the manual helps.

Ben Watt is playing Old St Pancras Church on Monday but it is sold out. I have booked into the SJ gig at Faber on Tuesday. The book that is being launched on the history of folk clubs looks excellent.

I have discovered that there is a recent Mazzy Star album - also two Hope Sandaval albums.


.