Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-10-29 - 11:12 a.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On the lower widget there is a new tune - He Patiently Insulted their Emancipation. I havent been out much. I have been doing a big promotion on Linkedin which has paid off.

It s great having a decent balance on on Omoio. I bought a live Trane album from 1963 - Afroblue Impressions. It didnt come out til the 70s but we played Ab a lot around 1970 - it was a tune that crossed over easily from jazz to rock.

I have been thinking about the phases of Trane's thinking as evidenced by various recordings. The first album I got in my teens was A Love Supreme - it made such an impression that I wrote about in my Aesthetics Finals at Cambridge. I also bought the next album he released which has Chim Chim Cheree. These two albums are seen as transitional to Trane's final cosmic phase. Afroblue is arguably at the start of that transition.

It has a Trane/Jones dialogue. These episodes have become famous and they are intense and passionate. It has just occurred to me that they may have been a springboard to the cosmic phase.

Talking to Glenn I committed to making a piece out of Trane's solo on So What. The 1961 Village Vanguard recordings are also very powerful and imaginative but I havent got the narrative through 61 62 63 yet.



.

.


previous - next