Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-08-22 - 12:20 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On the lower widget there is a new tune - Dusky District.

George Duke has just died. He was in at the start of jazz rock with the live recording he made with Jean-Luc Ponty at the end of the 60s and is almost impossible to get hold of now.He played on Miles' recordings at the end of the 80s and I have just bought Amandla again - also a set of GD's greatest hits.

On Tuesday evening I met Pete C at the Finsbury. We heard Whom by Fire who are compelling in their own particular way. The Sophie J trio were great - maybe even better than they were at the Harrison last week. Top of the bill were the Worrygirls who didnt work as a trio so much as a duo with an extra player.

I have been delving into Coltrane transcriptions further including the 1958 solo of Straight No Chaser on Milestones. This has prompted me to buy a larger set of Trane transcriptions. I discussed Trane and Sonny Rollins as influences with Davy Graham not long before he died. Taking his advice I have also ordered SR in the Giants of Jazz series. I used the SNC solo in a piece with Gilbert today.

previous - next