Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-07-28 - 1:46 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On the lower widget there is a new tunes - Barberburger Dealflab.

I have come across a photocopy of a transcription of Coltrane's solo on Milestones. I had worked on that about 10 years ago believing that the line is so good that it will stand alone as a solo piece. I put this to the test on two occaisions, once at a wedding in Guildford and secondly at a TiA weekend around 2004.


Coming back to it some years later its suitability seems even greater and I have been working on it accordingly.

Last night I went back to Wigmore Hall to hear Diana Damrau and Xavier de Maistre on harp. I was sitting in row B at one side - the side DD mostly used. The WH was very full and the audience were very positive about the performace demanding 3 encores.

Looking around the reviews on the net the big issue is the impact of using a harp to play piano parts. This depends a lot on the material. In the 2nd half the tackled late 19C French composers and that worked fine. The harp is a more intimate sound than the piano and the pair of performers really exploited that dynamic. The first half was Schubert and Strauss - the Schubert included a couple of warhorses that I could have done without. The Strauss sounded fine - even one of the 4 last songs.

I was very impressed with DD's technique including her coloratura chops.




previous - next