Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-06-06 - 6:14 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


The new piece on the Widget above is Channel Gang Jeopardy.

The Robert Craft Webern CD has arrived and very good it is too.There is another version of the Orchestral Variations and one of the late chorales. There is also the orchestral version of the 5 Pieces for SQ.

At the moment I have homed in on the Op14 songs from 1917-21 which set some poems by Trakl who is new to me but seems to be one of the great Austrian expressionist poets and was sponsored by Wittgenstein. LW actually said that he didn't understand what Trakl's poems are about but he liked their sound. It is with remarks like this that LW did most of his aesthetics. The Op14 instrumentation is bass clarinet and clarinet plus violin and cello. The songs are very demanding and after their first performance Webern said he didn't want any more. Trakl committed suicide in 1914 possibly with an overdose of cocaine - this may or may not explain why he is seen as an early modernist.

Gilbert and I have been discussing some improvised guitar duos - he plays amplified Spanish gtr and his friend plays electric with an octave divider.

I dug out a piano line that I had made with the Dhorn using MIDI and Gilbert liked it. So I have rediscovered how to MIDI the Dhorn into the laptop and recorded another line which I have tried with a couple of Gilbert's tracks. I have the house to myself. I ought to get round to booking for the piano recital at RFH this Sunday.





previous - next