Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-05-29 - 10:18 a.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


There are two new pieces on the Widget above - Rover and Confederate Sugarbag. The big project has come to an end and I am toying with the next article.

Following the Bank Holiday where I didn't do much I find I am still not doing very much. The weather doesn't help. PnB are on holiday in Portugal, S is in Greece and J is in France. I am starting to think about going somewhere this Summer - probably a city.

I have ordered R Craft doing Webern's Orchestral and Choral Music - very good value on Naxos. There is also a Stan Getz CD - an orchestral improvisation on the way.

I managed to get myself to Spitalfields this evening for Jazz Market in its new venue in the market. There were three bands - all versions of a guitar trio although one of them used a baritone sax as a bass. The house amps were a new shiny 100 watt Marshall for the lead and an Orange Combo for the bass. In Machinna Del Tempo the lead gtr used a Strat and so despite all the effects added the tone was very familiar. What?'s lead gtr had a Tele but he adopted a less conventional approach and indeed they were generally in that direction. They did a very inventive version of Feels Like Teen Spirit - a vocalist seated and manipulating his sound on a laptop. A Sweet Niche (with baritone bass) were probably the most original - the lead gtr had a 335 type gtr but it was not a Gibson. He used a lot different tones. Well worth dragging myself out of the house for.





previous - next