Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-04-02 - 6:49 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


CoP is finished. Confederacy and Birdfire 21 are new on the Widget. A new Didier vid has arrived but I havent posted it yet because I wonder whether it needs a credit for Cathy - it s up to her whether she wants to be associated with it.

Jill, the first novel of P Larkin has arrived and I have read the introduction. In it PL talks about his undergraduate days and refers a lot to his interest in New Orleans jazz - something that he shares with several friends particularly Kingsley Amis. It was around the same time that Owen Bryce, my first jazz teacher, joined a revivalist band in south east London. I am interested in whether this focus on New Orleans as opposed to 30s big band dance jazz was a major shift in hip taste. One can certainly imagine that the dance music of the 30s no longer seemed relevant at the start of the 1940s.

I need to start work on the next article - having agreed what the topic should be. Discussion with Larry on the SW book continues. My diary looks a bit sparse for the first couple of weeks in April.



previous - next