Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-02-27 - 1:51 p.m.

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC pieces


Our other Reverbnation Page



Fabrication and Secretarial Interview 3 are new on the Widget but everything you can see is pretty recent - do try the pieces.

I read D Pears' book on LW on my trip to the Purcell Room last night. It is pretty easy to read for philosophy and so far has spent a lot of time discussing the Tractatus treatment of solipsism which it seems to be linking through to the private language argument.

The Purcell Room is small and although I had bought the last ticket I was on the aisle and had a good view of proceedings. There were two hand percussion pieces - 1+1 and Clapping Music. Glass's 1+1 is dated 1967 and does seem to anticipate the Reich work. They do not get on these days.

There were two solo violin pieces - Violin Phase and Knee Music 2. The latter is from Glass's mid 70s opera Einstein on the Beach. I think the Reich Violin Phase is better and judging by the applause so did the audience.

There was Reich's Fluxus piece, Pendulum Music performed with 3 mikes - which I had never seen performed before although I have it on CD. It s Gonna Rain was run through of the track but I need to check another version in terms of how simple the phasing approach is.

This concert is in the London Sinfonietta's Landmark Series. I saw the second of these about the 2nd Viennese School and the same video artist was involved.

previous - next