Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-02-06 - 2:39 p.m.

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC pieces


Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


Our other Reverbnation Page

Assignment and Nursing Salary are new.

Monday's trip to hear the BBC Singers was excellent. They were performing in St Paul's Knightsbridge which I had not been in before. It is said that his is the church in London that best displays the impact of the Oxford Movement. It is in fantastic condition and also looks like very High Anglicanism is practised there.

Steph was too ill to attend and so I was on the look out for Ruth and Georgia who I managed to find in the interval. We talked about acoustics. The programme included several interesting pieces including Sea Change by Richard Rodney Bennett. I mailed PW about this. There was also a premier of a Steve Martland piece. This is the first SM that I have heard in a long while and so afterwards I tried to find out what he has been doing. He is the UK composer who has most tried to follow the path of the classic minimalists after studying with Andriessen in Holland. It seems he does a lot of music for dance but there isnt much of his music available on CD or mp3 that I could see. Ruth really disliked his piece.

My favourite piece of the evening was by Mantyjarvi - a new name to me. M is Finnish and wrote a substantial piece to commemorate a terrible sea loss in the Baltic in the 1990s.There was also some Palestrina and de Lassus. The BBC Singers are really the business and I can see why Cathy likes working with them. I found a nearby pub in a mews after the concert and several of the Singers turned up for a post gig glug. They didnt look as if they made a fantastic living out of their art.

Yesterday there was a launch at Nesta. I was not totally impressed by the presentation or the discussion but I met one of the authors during the drinks afterwards which proved a lot more interesting. I also chatted to a fundraiser from the Institute of Development Studies at Sussex.

previous - next