Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-01-13 - 8:09 p.m.

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


Our other Reverbnation Page


Liquid Durban, Nursing, Mandala and Dynamic Prolific are all new today.

Tony Kofi was on Radio 3 yesterday and looking up his recordings led me to Coltrane Configurations which he plays on and which is led Jamaaladeen Tacuma on electric bass. JT had been mentored by Ornette Coleman during his electric jazz phase. This made me think of James Blood Ulmer who played gtr with OC in Prime Time, a band I saw in the mid 70s. It was the first time I had heard that kind of punk jazz and it came as quite a shock to the system.

JBU's early recordings aren't on Spotify. The earliest, from around 1990 is Blue Blood which sounds very good but not much like Prime Time.

previous - next