Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-05-06 - 7:36 p.m.


ComScore





Five new pieces at the top of the Widget here - more in development.

Yesterday I looked at a stack of CDs in the other romm and pulled out one I had forgotten about with the Chansons de Bilitis - plus the Faun Prelude, Jeux and the Nocturnes. This lead me to buy an article about Mallarme and Debussy and the relationship between the original poem, Jeux and the PALduF.The main drift was that Jeux is more in tune with the poem than the Prelude is. This led me on to ordering the study score for Jeux. Jeux is ballet music and it was performed for the first time 2 weeks before Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. The piece has never quite recovered from being upstaged although Boulez has argued that it is deeply radical. Jeux was the last orchestral piece that Debussy completed. I also stumbled across Khamma which was an orchestral piece that D started after Jeux but he gave it to Koechlin to orchestrate.

previous - next