Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-02-22 - 5:13 p.m.


ComScore


Shostakovitch's 5th symphony was on R3 last night. He was lucky to get away with it if you ask me.

At the top of the Widget here is 'Emms' which is not a long piece and arrived by taking a part of Gilbert's and repeating it a major third up.

It has gradually dawned on me that there are an enormous number of free softsynths on the web. I have lost count of the number I have downloaded in the past fortnight. Many of them are very hard to drive unless they come with some pre-sets which many of them don't. There is a tractable subtractive synthesizer from Iloyd.com which comes with around 120 presets. I used this on a piece which I sent to Gilbert today.

I have taken to reworking older tunes which were never fully developed by extracting the MIDI lines and leaving the drum loops behind. Then I re-orchestrate the MIDI lines and perhaps do a bit of editing and development.

I was listening to Hope S's radio on Spotify when it brought up a piece by Julee Cruise of Twin Peaks fame. I used to have the TP CD until my son sat on it. HS and JC have quite a lot in common I realised. I went and found her 2011 album which JC and DJ Dmitry did together. Not much seems to be known about DJD but I am very impressed with their joint venture. It reminds me slightly of Vanessa Daou.

previous - next