Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-07-03 - 4:15 p.m.


standalone player

There have been some additions and modifications to the widget. Subsume is a kind of overture to the Frags and then up to track 12 everything is new apart from Massive which is fairly new. This includes 3 in the Dr series. Also Beef Beat which is one of two takes on a groove - maybe the other one is still in development. I practicised The Sorcerer by playing along with the 5tet recording on gtr. It makes you appreciate their version even more. There are a couple of places where I need a quick fingering for a chord which I haven t got . I can do the first 8 alright but there are 2 or 3 changes in the 2nd 8 that I havent got. Of course within their style not playing for a couple of bars is quite OK. The head is really tricky even though it s quite pared down - one has just got to start by learning the rhythm of the line slowly.

I saw today in the FB stream that Lamb have reformed and are touring. For some reason I caught their first album at the time it came out in the mid 90s and really liked it. Looking over the reviews I see that it is now seen as a move which stopped triphop getting too settled and also extended drum n bass. Well it certainly helped keep me on my toes. There is a new Lamb album - some tracks on their Myspace page plus some live versions of the old favourites/classics. I have also been listening to the 1st Imogen Heap album which is 2 or 3 years later than the Lamb debut. What with the EBTG dance based song writing the late 90s emerge as a great era for taking EDM into creative songwriting.

previous - next