Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-04-20 - 4:43 p.m.

There are four pieces now following the explanation of ALT chords by Charles Alexander. Mostly they build on the Giant Steps concept of migrating between keys that are a major third apart eg EAlt Am G#Alt C#m CAlt Fm. The trick is that the Fm scale also fits the EALT chords - so stepping between the different keys is very smooth.

I have been tweeting a lot - over 400 issued and this seems to keep bringing followers although this is not my aim. I gave the followers a treat by tweeting a link to the Jimmy Smith Oliver Nelson version of Gloomy Sunday. As I played it occurred to me that the treatment was very much contrary to the song's reputation.

I got Grooveshark to play me the Sundays' complete works.

previous - next