Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-04-05 - 8:04 a.m.


Rare vinyl here - I may still have my own vinyl copy - it has never been issued on CD.

http://learning2share.blogspot.com/2008/07/selections-from-jimmy-smiths-monster.html

As a teenager I tried to learn all these Jimmy Smith licks on the flute - and I still wish I could write like Oliver Nelson did in these arrangements. Grady Tate Richard Davis & Kenny Burrell are the rhythm section who drive like crazy. I suppose I think if I work through ON's patterns of improvisation some of it might rub off - he must have put the book together about the time he did these charts. There were a couple of messages from North Carolina about video art and tonality - also one from Achmad Ananda in Jakarta about the gear he uses - including Mesa Boogie - obviously pretty serious. Also making some arrangements with Cathy B. I tried Elysian Fields and was pretty impressed - they are still going and have a following in Europe. They have collaborated with J Zorn. We have inched up to 36 in London Alt.chart on RN. I dont really want to do any more mailing until there are new songs in the library. I also tried Mazzy Star and was less taken by them. There is a picture of Christine and Gilbert gigging here:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=136682843069960&set=a.136682153070029.28929.100001847346099&theate

The Linkedin jazz discussion has a lot of very experienced players in it.

previous - next