Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-11-20 - 7:42 p.m.

The laptop was getting full so I cleaned and defragged it. This gave me enough space to copy the Contents folder from the SMS disc to the laptop. Looking at the tunes in that folder I realised that a lot use DLS voices. I read in the manual about how to load these voices but I couldn�t get it to work in practice. I also noted that a lot of these DLS voices use very long notes and I cant find out how you write these in the MIDI editor. So I was a bit stymied. LFM have a new library facility � it comes under the heading Mix and is meant to represent more recent additions. Something else for the bear to try his hand at.

I decided I would try to load a new VST synth into SMS. I quite quickly found a free Minimoog and downloaded it. I spent a long time trying to make a link between SMS and the synth. Finally it dawned on me that there was a recorder on the Minimoog which meant that I could record sequences and then upload them into SMS and play around with them. The Minimoog makes a wide range of sounds and will definitely expand the sound palette. I have made a simple piece using a Mmoog patterns and sent it off to Gilbert to see if it strikes any chords.

Dr Z has been on holiday in Kenya which explains why he hasn�t been blogging but he is back now talking about all the animals he has seen. No posting from AK today but there was an e-m from the Detroit area.

previous - next