Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-03 - 5:40 p.m.

I was thinking about tone rows � eg take two three note quartals a semitone apart � EAD & FBbEb � what�s left? C#CBG#GF# which might be another straight quartal C#F#B and a major seventh G#CG. Or it could be the minor seventh G#BF# and the quartal C#GC. Arguably this last chord could progress to the minor seventh.

I played Olive Extra Virgin which I had dismissed as a one hit CD but Miracle is quite nice and there�s a studio and live version plus two versions of the big hit � You�re Not Alone. The record was made in 1996 which is a long time ago. I sent the bear off into my library about 11.30am and he came back with Alice Coltrane, then Pole. Not much in the way of e-ms. Then bear chose There is a Light that Never Goes Out which we haven�t heard for a bit. Amazon wrote to me about Badiou on Wagner which costs �50 discounted � I am not doing very well with Being and Event. Bear put on TT It�s All True and a remix of Never Too Much which didn�t really respect the original groove. In the afternoon there were two new links and more material on LEPs. Gilbert sent three recordings for Apedal. The software wasn�t on best behaviour but I got them mixed. I liked the sound of his Epiphone.

Today PW sent a draft pastiche that he has written. I decided to let my reclusive instincts prevail. The bear played Dixie Cups� Iko Iko which was a favourite in a youth club I went to as a teenager. I switched to Radio Anitabeba which started with Life During Wartime from Stop Making Sense, a DVD I used to own. Laurence mailed about the duties of leaders in the financial sector. After lunch I decided to see how the U2 sounded plugged into the Cube and then fed via the headphone socket into the audio/USB interface. I thought a bit more about quartal chords a semitone apart and I realised that a 5note quartal � on the top 5 strings of the guitar, slid up a semitone left only a final fourth which could be played on the lower strings. I put some beats into SMS and recorded a riff on this basis � in two positions. The sound of the gtr was very clean but it was possible to give more colour using the SMS effects. I added a bass line and some rhythm loops and gradually built up something just under 2 minutes in length. I also recorded some Dhorn through the Cube. I used to use it for recording the flute. I sent the piece off to Gilbert as an mp3. He mailed back suggesting a different intro and also with a selection amongst the 3 mixes I did yesterday.

previous - next