Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-09-16 - 10:01 p.m.

I watched the arrival of the Pope on TV � it all seemed to go better than expected. The Vamp3 arrived half way through the morning. The first thing I set up was the USB audio interface which sounds much better than the headphones socket on the laptop. The interface comes with a lead to link to the Vamp so nothing extra is needed. I started with an old track that needs something to liven it up. I recorded a single string line � and then took that line and put a new organ part underneath it. I identified an old Dhorn line which went into another piece and I started to think about a gtr part for the short Schoenberg arrangement. It needs some work to get the syncopations right. Gilbert mailed about his publisher.

The Vox AC30 simulation suits me � as indeed the original amp used to. Some of the newer stops in the first 16 sound better to me than on the Vamp2. I am steering clear of most of the FX and the second 16 of the simulations.. There is also a CD of sound software which I am in no hurry to explore � although maybe some of the effects will be usable in SMS. It all seems to work quite well.

previous - next