Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-08-29 - 6:34 p.m.

I got the bear out of bed before 7am � he coped quite well but then he had the day off yesterday. I gave him a bit of break while I played Bark1 and Quartaloops which look as if they might be the first things Gilbert picks up. The works� server is still out. Bark2 and Bark also exist currently. Bark exists as an mp3 I have sent to Gilbert. Bear played some Ornette Coleman and I realized there is no way I can avoid his influence with the Dhorn. He also played some of the Philadelphia Expt remix which sounded really good but I still don�t recognize it even though I have bought it. I fiddled around with some of the fragments from yesterday but didn�t make much progress at first. I went back to the harmonic sequence I had knocked out for the vibraphone yesterday and notated it more carefully. It starts with a Db major chord over a pedal A natural but this sounds relatively consonant for reasons I don�t understand � I have found the best way to improvise on this harmony on the Dhorn is to use a C scale with my finger on the semitone up button. I now really want to make something of these chords. This means trying to edit the rhythmic synth WAVs that I have been using in the spaces between the chords � they are mostly in D.

I dragged myself away from Works2 to North Marine Drive. The last track is A Girl in Winter which happens to be the same title as Philip Larkin�s second novel � can�t tell if this is an accident or not. I found some more SMS downloads and located the piano software synth, loading it properly � I put the piano into the chord sequence replscing the vibraphone and added some synth strings to the spaces around the chords. Maybe its getting somewhere. I think this one is going to be a bit of a journey. I will go on finding ways of extending and refining it I think. I listened to some Triphop Radio � Mandalay turned up sounding good again. I played that chord sequence on the guitar but transposed it into a so I could use the pedal E under an Ab quartal major.

I had the sense to buy enough Bud for three nights last night. The film doesn�t look so good tonight. Dr Z is picking up momentum with his new job.

previous - next