Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-08-18 - 6:11 p.m.

The bear started out with Regina Carter which made a refreshing change � I have often wondered if she is related to Ron Carter as they are both jazz string players from the Detroit area. Amazon seemed to think that I might buy some more David Sylvian records. I have now put up all the positive comments we have received on the GI/IC offering � for example some here:

http://www.last.fm/music/Gilbert%2BIsbin%2B%2526%2BIain%2BCameron

I am spending a lot of time reorchestrating the groove piece which is currently just under two minues long. The bear pulled out Robin�s Water Falls Down which seems to be his favourite track of hers. Then Pat Metheny�s Cathedral in a Suitcase. Dr Z mailed about Badiou and Meilllassoux and the possible link to Hume. I decided to play Weekend Players because I haven�t heard them a while and they cheer me up.

I left just before midday and got a lift to Osterley. I arrived a bit ahead of time in the foyer of 1 Victoria St and sat down to read a copy of the FT which was there for the purpose. Francis arrived on time and suggested we go to either a Turkish restaurant or an Italian one. It turned out that the Turkish one is the one I have been to twice already - the Italian one is on Rochester Row where there used to be a think tank. It turns out that during the week Francis has a room in a building just behind RR and so he regards the place as his local. I chose asparagus to start and then swordfish - both extremely nicely cooked. We talked at length about Coalition policies in various areas - and also a bit about our families and also about the works. We walked back down Strutton Ground and parted on Vic St so I could go across the to the Broadway to catch a District Line. On the way back I read a book Francis had given me about the organisation where he stays during the week.

previous - next