Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-05-30 - 9:21 a.m.

I woke late so that the bear was up before me � I had stayed up watching the film about hip-hop even though it lived down to the pre-publicity. There were a couple of e/ms from PW to which I replied. One was whether Corinne Bailey Rae is simply cool? I listened to the two blues tracks on Patteran Pages which sounded very good for people sitting around in a room playing. Bear played the Travelling Wilburys which could have been a gesture of solidarity.

I am still thinking about the chord sequence I knocked out on Friday morning. I am also beginning to think of how I would use a Roland SD-50. I think it would probably mean switching to Cakewalk but that�s not the end of the world. I have realised that two years ago my cousin gave me a bag full of old polo shirts that I�ll be able to wear in Provence. I am not a fan of Bank Holiday weekends. I read the 20th Century Woman blog which has pictures of bears in Alaska � plus Andrew K�s weekly posting hereabouts. I can�t work out why LFM links Labra Lansh with Robin.

I read some of the articles circulated in outline by UKCES, passed a few on and ferreted about on their website. I read the Wikipedia article on quartal harmony which is nicely detailed. I decided to buy a book on quartal jazz voicings for the piano. The author � Paul Rinzler has also written on the contradictions in jazz but this though inviting looks a bit pricey. The author is on Linkedin with only nine links. He offers some free jazz education material here:

http://www.cla.calpoly.edu/~prinzler/sitefiles/instructional_materials.html

including this on quartal voicings

http://www.cla.calpoly.edu/~prinzler/sitefiles/pdfs/Quartal_pdfs/P40.pdf

Part of the drive on quartal harmony is to be able to do on guitar some of the harmonic fills that Hhancock slips in on River.

previous - next