Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-04-19 - 9:32 a.m.

Outlook messed me around wanting passwords where it had previously been content to plough ahead � very frustrating � it was working fine early Sunday morning as I watched a late night thriller from 1974 with Michael Caine. It sent me a newsletter about manufacturing in the early hours. But no e-ms for the rest of Sunday until 5.00pm when it finally relented fitfully. P J Harvey was on the Andrew Marr Show with her autoharp plugged into a Vox AC30 playing a song to Gordon Brown.

This diary worked its way up the Google rankings of Cameronia to number 5 for a while. Apparently there�s something on the first entry of this current batch which is doing it � but I can�t see what it can be as it is mostly about LFM. Later in the day it slipped back down to its usual position.

I was intrigued when I chanced across the Folk Blues and Beyond website � e.g. who�s included and who�s missed out. As a reaction I looked up Bunjies and the Troubadour both of which are well covered on the web. After I left school my first serious appearance was at the Troubadour, accompanying a singer in a floorspot. The bear likes to play Davy Graham�s Tristano which is truly beyond belief.

I have been warned off drinking between one and two cans of coke a day. New pictures appeared on the Patteran Pages but no new text. I discovered the Derek Ridgers blog � visually stunning as you might expect.

I am trying to get my head round Gillespie�s desciption of Badiou�s� theory of the void as an inconsistent multiplicity that can assume novel forms in and through the production of truths,� Under this is the thought that �if being is interrogated to the limit, one simply encounters nothing�. G goes on:

�One could flush a toilet a hundred times a year and view it each time as a general habit that yields little in the way of novelty. On the other hand, an individual could decide to tape record the flushing of a toilet and thus make out of an general everyday gesture a work of art � as Yoko Ono did in 1971. Something new, difference, has been extracted from the generality of habit in such a way that exhibits a truly creative potential�

Trying to clarify this I bumped into some raw Badiou which started on the subject of body art:

�Body art is the direct experimentation of the limits of the body as exposition itself . But in fact the absolute limit of something like body art is experimentation of death as such; and the real and final experimentation in the field of body art can be to commit suicide in public�.

For a long time I have been looking for a grand theory of body art � I got stuck there about four years ago. B goes on:

What is a world of art? �.. I propose to say that a world is an artistic one, a situation of art, a world of art when it proposes to us a relation between chaotic disposition of sensibility and what is acceptable as a form. So an artistic situation, in general, is always something like relation between a chaotic disposition of sensibility in general (what is in the physical, what is in the audible, and in general) and what is a form. So it's a relation (an artistic world) between sensibility and form. And it's finally a proposition between the split of sensibility, between what is formalism�what can be formalized of the sensibility�and what cannot. �

The bear wasn�t very inspired although did manage to pull out the 1958 version of Green Dolphin St � I bought this as an EP while I was still at school. It was the first tune I played as an audition when I got to university.

previous - next