Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-04-17 - 9:46 a.m.

To be honest I found the debate between the three political leaders boring.

Peter Chatterton has linked up with me on Linkedin. He is the creator of the websites which are beyond the links at the top of this page. Some people have hundreds of Linkedin links but I am trying to get to ten. Perhaps I will get there today as I need to find one more. I also mailed Mark Pavey who is set to perform in Tanworth in July suggesting he put his new CD on LFM. Joshua Radin was on Channel 4 late the other night. I was impressed enough to add him to the LFM library. I wonder whether that bear is in league with the algorithm chosing what gets played? If so, the bear kicked off the day with The Hounds of Winter by Sting which suited me.

More introductory material on Badiou came to light � mostly in a magazine I used to buy from time to time - Radical Philosophy. This confirmed that Badiou is now the main man as far as the Anglo Saxon view of French philosophy is concerned particularly with the death of Deleuze and following the relatively late translation of his key works into English. The maths is key, particularly set theory and especially the link between the empty set and his idea of events � events are few and far between but represent a decisive break in matters and the start of something completely new. Events are said to be on the edge of non-being. I could live with this definition of �event�.

Reading further into Gillespie on Badiou I came across a lengthy discussion of Spinoza. This is a shame because he was the one philosopher who I skipped during my final year. This was a deliberate act of avoidance. The paperback of Gillespie�s book is in the mail.

I have decided that the arrival of Andrew�s ITCOTCK volume means that I need a CD of the original to hand and accordingly I have ordered one. It was interesting reading about Peter Giles. At one time I lived over Clapham South tube station and PG lived in a flat in a house in the cluster of buildings around the pub in the centre of the common. Paul W and I had a few jams with him and he began to induct us into his method of building an arrangement � just going through the song and playing only the first beat of each bar to see where additions were going to be most effective and making sure that the tempo was rock solid.

Amazon mailed about Steinberg�s Wavelab Essentials which is a well targeted pitch. The last time I was doing this stuff I was using the software a lot and I thought I�d worked out a unique process with it. There is a bit of an issue about activation codes with it, apparently.

The current project reached page 15 and I am wondering whether it needs to go much further.

Later, the bear played the 2000 Joni Mitchell version of Both Sides Now again - with Wayne Shorter. It occurred to me that the distant Hhancock version might have taken this version as its jumping off point. I have resumed Whitesell�s book and am on the section about song structure about two thirds of the way through. I wish I knew where my Miss M DVDs had got to. The bear followed up BSN with Television�s Torn Curtain � the last track on their brilliant debut album � a very intense song � just a bit reminiscent of She�s So Heavy on Abbey Road (in a good way). That bear has taken to Tom Rush � he doesn�t mind the Judy Collins BSN either � and he will sometimes play Art Bears.

A magazine with an article by a colleague arrived and I mailed him to ask a couple of questions about its contents to getting a lengthy reply. In response I mailed off a couple of documents I have found this week � one a study of High Performance Working, the other about Groundhog Day.

I put the two Paul Butterfields Blues Band albums into the LFM library having read about the struggle Elektra had to record the first � it was their first electric music recording. I imagine mastering PBBB this will have made the Love albums easier to record. The PBBB albums sold well and were apparently very influential on electric guitarists across the world not least in promoting the adoption of the Gibson Les Paul � although MB used it with a Twin Reverb (rather than a Marshall say). Gibson only brought out a Bloomfield signature model about a year ago.

The NHS have sent me a do-it-yourself bowel cancer test kit. You can�t imagine what you are meant to do with it and I have yet to decide whether I will.

Sometimes the bear confuses the wonderful original version of Ain�t That Peculiar with a tragic 1980 live performance but sometimes he gets it right.

previous - next