Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-07-24 - 12:19 p.m.

Mail and CD from AK � I asked what he thought about the structure of Fruit Tree.

Here�s something from the male poet clumped with Plath and Sexton � published posthumously, written in his late 50s, maybe in 1971 adding to the impression that of leavings and abandonment about that time:

He Resigns

Age, and the deaths, and the ghosts,

Her having gone away

in spirit from me. Hosts

of regrets come & find me empty.

I don�t feel this will change.

I don�t want any thing

or person, familiar or strange.

I don�t think I will sing

Any more just now;

ever. I must start

to sit with a blind brow

above an empty heart.

We are flying to Lycia for a fortnight. Brutus conquered Lycia and the Lycians were so independent that they would rather kill their women and children than submit. This was the second time they had reacted in this way. The Lycians had a 29 letter alphabet � the 19 Greek plus 10 extra letters they thought they needed. I don�t think their language is properly deciphered.

James is staying. I showed him the Butler Body book I am taking � she goes behind the notion that the sex is material in the body while gender is socially constructed. James said he wasn�t surprised that Foucault features in an enterprise of this sort. I haven�t taught much but I did encourage him to get his Foucault up to scratch. Deleuze is up my slieve.

We wondered whether to get some Hoggwarts port for a larf.

I am also taking the collected poems of Adrienne Rich � and of course the Berryman. They all seem to hang together. I am taking the Chinese piccolo that belonged to Pheasant to keep my chops in � a tutorial on Coltrane Changes and Ron Carter�s basslines. Maybe Regina Carter is his sister?

previous - next