Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-05-24 - 7:36 a.m.

I slept more of yesterday than I planned and so I thought it unwise to drive the extra 1OO miles or so to Caius � which is a pity. I had an extra large Baconburger on the banks of the River Thame to build myself up.

On a brighter tack, Laurence put together some of our texts. And then I played with them some more. Thus:

�We need to capture depth (metaphysics?)��How is this depth manifest�..naturalism (causation?) through the richness of ethical discourse?�..How to get this going in a group?....-so a form of moral realism follows? You mean obligation is out there somewhere?

If both transcendence and natural causation miss what we mean by ethics we be left with justification and bedrock through reflection, dialogue, reason

If both transcendence and natural causation miss what we mean by ethics�..we can dismiss kant?...we might only be left with justification and bedrock through reflection, dialogue, reason��So we can always go deeper?

How am I able to obey a rule?� if this is not a question about causes then it is about the justification for following the rule in the way I do. If I have exhausted justifications I have reached bedrock and my spade is turned. Then I am inclined to say: this is simply what I do. LW Phil Inv 1 - 217

The LW may get right at the heart of moral realism? Say more on this. The open future is vulnerable to a surprise intervention from the past. Surprise flux is essentially now.

Movement from the range of possibilities to the specific actual. Here is the time essence. Cinema releases us from organising images into some shared external world. No presumed we. Just imaging.

I like the cinema remark � is film particularly good at this imagery? So says deleuze�..the open future � is this freedom? Part of freedom�.

�How am I able to obey a rule?� if this is not a question about causes��so how would a causal account work? In terms of algorithms?......then it is about the justification for following the rule in the way I do�..there are many ways I might follow it?�

It where we�ve got to so far � the openness of experience that Deleuze finds in certain sorts of cinema bumps into the margins of ethical phenomena � where there may be just behaviour. Laurence wants this margin to be group discussion and reflection.. Anyway this is my latest edit as we explore what happens when you move the stuff out of txt to a manipulable continuous text form. There s no guarantee that it will end up as discourse. It might end up as a lyric to be set � that would allow themes to recur.

Laurence and Chris used to configure these strange group events that gently pushed people into fairly extreme mental states � well that�s what happened to me. It was a sort of mental uncorking. On reflection I wasn�t sure that you could do that to people within the bounds of an employment contract.

Anyway I have just sent L a text to warn this stuff is going up. I sent James some stuff from a Chicago Revolutionary Workers site. I saw the photos of Vita�s Prom � limo and all � very sophisticated � really � much more grown up than I could ever manage.

The Denon tuner amp found the strain of Vita�s party too much and needs to go to the shop. I have put the recently serviced Yamaha A1OO in its place. Its driving the cheapest possible speakers but sounds pretty hot to me � just possibly it adds minimal colourations. The only problem is that it is very loud. I listened to some Cassandra Wilson which came across very powerfully � especially a version of Time after Time.I tried to find a review of the amp but didn�t manage it.

Magic gets five stars in the Independent � rather a shock to see a judgement we have been advocating � this stuff is really good � in cold print.

Just now a cut of Day In Day Out is cycling against the latest mix of the Box tune. Somewhere is my mind is the idea that DL�s discovery of the time-image as more than the movement-image can be transferred to turntabulism.

I am going to have to busk a presentation this morning. I thought my piano playing had come on a bit. Maybe I will play old Yamaha PSR more in the flat � perhaps through Pandora.

previous - next