Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-03-08 - 8:00 a.m.

More good news on the connectivity front � the 3 pieces I downloaded via Vita�s Net MD onto a my disc will play on my MD at L-town. The pieces are something that Glibert and I did using harmonies from an early unrecorded bit of Steve Reich, a random bit of techno and a version one One Point Two with flute and Gilbert fills. Also on MD are some masters from last week�s burst � the Dhorn one where the line was created by improvising to an unheard background and then new harmonies were added on guitar, the one where a Dhorn phrase is taken through my new harmonic extension algorithm and some EM1300 added plus the one where the Dhorn line is joined by the Crafter. Then there�s a piece which is important because I have lost the original backing track � derived from a single harmonic rich guitar note � this has been algorithmicised and some flute added. I am listening to the bit where there is an airsynth entry imitating French � and then some rude whispering.

O yes the MD also has my �Approximately Four Minutes� with GI obligatto. I can see I will have to get the net MD kit.

I mailed Peter Chatterton yesterday with some thoughts about response patterns on the KK site over Christmas and the New Year � which seem to follow a pulse and decay pattern � maybe with a bite in the middle for the Festival days themselves. As the decay goes on it settles back to a higher baseline. Just now the baseline seems to be around 500 pages a week. The most popular pages are the News and Derek�s pictures but the Dhorn page is putting on volume too with the Robin-Mark-Gilbert-IC piece getting plays. I see Botswana is about to cross the 100 requests threshold. The next country to cross the 1000 requests threshold might be Mexico or Brazil

Ricardo�s story about the coincidence when he was hitching to Boston was really good. Robin has surfaced on the question of whether the Place To Be discussion group should continue � which she thinks it should. It has been running for six years and has had its moments � some of the most dramatic have been via some scurrilous suggestions from that guitarist who did Nine of Swords which impugned the integrity of the coroner process in the UK � not that that is a hard thing to do. I bet Robin�s seminar in Ventura went well. It would be nice to hear more about Gilbert in LA.

My argument with the Inland Revenue continues although I remain optimistic that we can reach a satisfactory solution.

I conclude that the earliest Jonty H piece � the 1982 Klang � is the easiest to understand. It seems to be about some attractive natural sounds, recorded in a kitchen, and then to follow a kind of arc-shaped trajectory.

I also listened to the Best of the Byrds last night � Renaissance Fair is one of my all time favourites and I have a special liking for D Crosby. 5th Hughes Hall City Lecture on Government Communications: 2003 and Beyond is tonight.

previous - next