Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-01-29 - 11:56 a.m.

This is from a motor lodge at the east end of the North Circular Road where I arrived about 1 am this morning having had a late night drink with James in Cambridge. He has been very busy on top-up fees issue and is even named on the front page of the student newspaper, making life more awkward for the new US vice-chancellor. He said that today he has a seminar on the theory of representative democracy which is a nice irony. I am amazed that he is so deeply engaged in just four months � and also managing to do some work. Politically he seems to be left liberal democrat � and he is scathing about the radicals eg in Kings, locked in a 60s timewarp.

He was busy earlier in the evening with the Commons vote and so I went to the opening of the Magic Flute at the ADC getting one of the last few tickets which happened to be in the front row. I thought the production was excellent. Cathie Bell sang the Queen of the Night with great aplomb. She looked absolutely extraordinary � quite unworldly. I said to Betty that I thought her presentation of the first aria spanned all ages � from toddler to old age. I have only seen MF once before and I loved it � I don�t understand it but it has such brilliant, surprising symmetry.

I caught another fine set of performances on Sunday afternoon in Warwick � a harp led ensemble with string quartet, flute and clarinet. They started with a Mozart flute quartet. It was an earlier composition than the one I have done (with piano reduction). I mostly prefer later Mozart but this one had a great slow movement with pizzicato strings. Next up was a late Brahms clarinet quintet. Apparently Brahms had given up composition until he heard some clarinet player who prompted him to write several pieces. Brahms is far from a favourite composer but it was good to listen to the music in that context. You can�t help thinking about how he finishes the movement.

One of my all times favourites was in the 2nd half � Debussy�s sonata for flute, harp and viola � and the performance was immaculate. I have listened to a performance close up before but this time I was able to get some very high partials from the viola that I have never heard before. The recital closed with Ravel�s Introduction and Allegro which is all about extended II:V harmonies � very jazzy. Watching the musicians made me aware of how much the string writing is like the SQ.

The really unusual item on the programme was a new piece by Howard Skempton � this was the world premiere and Skempton was in the audience. It reminded me a bit of the Polish composer, Baird. Like much of the Skempton I have heard it was deceptively simple � starting with a folk-like theme that comes from a setting of a Blake poem which is gradually elaborated. There�s another chance to hear the programme when it comes to the Farnham Maltings. Tempting.

I seem to have beaten the weather down to London � which is always warmer with its own microclimate � Peterborough, not that far north of Cambridge had 5 inches overnight. Maybe I will go back to Guildford via the south loop of the M25 tonight and then drive into my favourite Victoria carpark just outside the congestion zone tomorrow . Maybe I will go back to the NEC before going to Swindon Friday � depending on the weather of course.

previous - next