Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-12-09 - 11:47 a.m.

There was a management meeting in the morning where my boss firmed up on his strategy. He asked for some new product ideas and I sent him five.

First thing I looked at was the MIDI/Cubase version of the F-music that the software delivered and still found it very absorbing. I wondered how much I ought to intervene in it.. Leaving it alone is the easy option. � adding some improv is the next easiest. Maybe I should import a WAV against it and see what falls out.

Stefan dropped in to say that he had bought a Coltrane collection with My Favourite Things at the weekend � that was my suggestion for the next step to explore JC after Ole. I explained that this came between Kind of Blue and Ole. He said he really liked it. Especially the piano playing within the 4tet � I said that it came out of Philly.where McCoy Tyner grew up. The drummer was from Detroit. I droned on about quartal harmony. How there is a fourth chord at the end of the Stravinsky piece in Memoriam Debussy which appears as the defining chord of So What. How McCoy Tyner extended this. Then we went into the management meeting.

I have been set a certain target for next year which might involve warming up some contacts from my past life and I started to dig away to bring myself up on some recent developments. I exchanged some thoughts with my ex-colleagues about the current European mentality.

James started his Christmas job in Heals � possibly a bit of a culture shock.

Its suddenly that point when you realise that Xmas has crept up on you like a thief in the night. My sister left an answerphone message asking me what I wanted.. I should have made a list.

Still trying to work out this biochemistry stuff but its quite tricky. I can see its going to take time.some time to get into it. I wouldn�t bother except when I put together various bits of symptom it they all seem to come back to the balance between 3 or 4 chemicals which interact together. Avoiding coffee looks like a good idea on this model.

Paul mailed to say that the final mix of Red Blues is in the post to me. Can�t wait.

Listened to the original �O No Not My Baby�

previous - next