Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-12-06 - 8:02 a.m.

I got to Peter Chatterton�s house in Balham about 8.00pm having made reasonably good progress except for the last 3 or 4 miles which were quite wearing. Trisha Sibbons was already there with Lucky who is from Johannesberg and who drove Peter around during the Summer when he was there.

We went through where we had got to with the KK site and reviewed objectives against the progress that had been made and the changes in the situation worldwide. We came up with a list of things that we would work towards in the coming year. In musical terms we will expand the Lullabyes project bringing in more musicians with the aim of mounting a candlelight concert on 30 November 2004 in St Martins in the Fields in Trafalgar Square. Tricia is church warden there, so she knows the market for this kind of thing and has a pretty clear view of how much can be raised.

We are shifting the focus of the site � still relying on the music, rockstar pics, poetry etc to pull people in. But the key message has to be get visitors to keep up the pressure on elected representatives � and to highlight ways in which this can be done, especially through the net.

Ciaran is expanding his Race Against Time concept and wants to make it a kind of national challenge for cyclists rather in the way that some marathons have become a focus people who run. Peter acted as secretary to our ramblings and will shortly doll out the tasks that we inadvertently committed to in a list

Its lucky that his brother has taken over as artistic director of ENO which is just up the road from St Martins.

I got Peter to take several shots of the Dhorn so that we can do page on the site featuring it. It crops up on three of the lullabyes.

It was late when I drove back from Battersea to Guildford and I had Jazz FM�s Late Lounge on the radio. I especially enjoyed a new cover of a Judy Tzuke classic and Miss Mitchell�s original version of Woodstock which I think is on Ladies of the Canyon. Despite its risible origins � written watching the event on TV � the piano and the overdubs bring out the depth of the poetry � billion year old carbon.

This morning I got the first order for Lullabyes � for eight � which is a great start. I started to get into the production phase of the project. This is more interesting than it might sound as it is a little laboratory for some of the ideas our organisation trades in like �pull systems�, single piece flow etc. I went out and bought a paper cutter and some jewel cases.

Unfortunately I am getting into food supplements. I have been reading around my various symptoms and I can see nothing else for it but to understand a bit more of the biochemistry � night and day for example.

My date from Kent didn�t how in Gfd because of traffic hell on the M25.

I thought about Tori Amos saying how much she like Miss M�s Songs for a Seagull � also anout the re-issue of Philip Glass�s 600 Lines � a 1968 piece. I told Santa that I really wanted the ONCE CD archive even though it costs 60 dollars.

I caught just a bit of the Zappa fest from LA late night on Radio3.

previous - next