Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-11-25 - 10:42 a.m.

I have got hold of a demo copy of the latest copy of Wavelab which costs around �400 . It is save disabled but it still really good fun. So far I have played with timestretch, a 3 band notch filter and a reverb with some great parameters. Between them they are so powerful that it would certainly be worth taking some processed sounds out through the A-D converter � say onto a minidisc and then recording them back into my other (proper) version of Wavelab so that I can save them. I wonder whether I can find a path to the minidisc by-passing the converter using USB and SPDIF � possibly too ambitious.

Peter Chatterton looked in having ridden his motorbike from Hatfield to Birmingham. He said it was a bit cold. I showed him the editorial I wrote yesterday.for the kwase-kwase site � right hand link under �Iain Cameron�s diary�. We decided last May to start an editorials page on the site and then having written one, I could neither think of anything to say or persuade anyone else to say anything � so the single editorial just sat there looking pathetic.

Anyway last week was pretty strong on the KK site. I can�t easily access the webstats during the week � only from home. I had a glance at how November was going and was pretty encouraged. We seem to be getting business from a lot of quirky blogs. My guess is that Derek Ridgers� pictures are a big driver but all the artists on the site get their mp3s listened to � and given there is a wide range of music styles on the site that must mean that all kinds of people are visiting.

I have decided that I am going to issue Five Lullabyes this week in the run up to World AIDS Day. The 5 are by Robin, Gilbert, Paul W, myself and the Classic Buskers who are a Cambridge based duo. Michael from the CBs is an incredible musician and the �lullabye� is their rendition of my favourite Debussy Prelude � the Girl with the Flaxen Hair � on Dhorn. Yes � this CD contains no less than three Dhorn tracks � by two separate hornplayers. This has to be a global first. The CB track is very high and dreamy and shows what a great expressive interpreter Michael is. Read more at:

http://www.seaview.dial.pipex.com/classic_buskers.htm

I have been trying to master CD Label software and not doing very well. I am using really good photo that Peter Chatterton took when he was in Johannesburg in the Summer but this is proving a real struggle. Actually making the CDs is about fifty times simpler. I burnt one for Peter Chatterton to take away with him.

My guess is that some of the increased volume on the site is driven by the general build up to World AIDS Day and students working on assignments that they have been set as a consequence. The Links page should be quite helpful.

I have just agreed to go to Dagenham on Wednesday morning � quite an undertaking I fear.

A fascinating programme on Radio 4 this evening � about religion and politics in the 17th century. The radical Diggers made their camp on St Georges Hill hear Weybridge in Surrey � a place which many think now is as close as the UK gets to the affluent parts of LA. Lots too about the cultural impact of Pilgrim�s Progress � perhaps the second most successful book ever written in the English language.

previous - next