Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-05-08 - 2:55 p.m.

Interesting to read Robin�s strategy to get her songs considered for a major opportunity. I bought the first CD � eventually � out of curiousity and my children laughed at me for being so predictable. I thought it sounded a bit like James Taylor � I am sure Robin is right to spot the distinctive features of the writing and production on that album as an opportunity for her approach.

I got to meet Mark G yesterday and see the cybercontrol centre for the Frakctured Universe. I thought the location was very pretty indeed � there were lambs in the field across the road from his house and a bit of a sunset too as we drove off to the pub. Although Mark lives close to Cambridge and quite near some main roads the village has quite an isolated feel and lots of interesting buildings. Perhaps I will embarrass Mark by saying that he looks younger in person than in the photo!

The pub we went to gets very high marks (globally) and it has a thatched cottage made of chalk next door � or clunch. Mark had to put up with my clunch obsession but I managed not to go on too much about the lower chalk. This was even though I realised that the hills which run down to Royston are lower chalk � the geological equivalent of that area in North East Hampshire that Jake and I discovered about six weeks ago.

Mark played me the Rumsveld piece which for some reason I hadn�t been able top hear before � something to do with my PC � there�s a rather wistful little French film-music type tune sitting amongst all the ironic words which spices the confection nicely. We looked at new tune which is under development and I put down a couple of rather impulsive flute blasts � hopefully somewhere in there are a couple of bars which wont end up on the cutting room floor.

I don�t think I have seen someone working on pretty much the same version of Cubase as myself � very interesting to see the similarities and differences

The drive back was really pretty quick � I have nearly worked out how to navigate Northampton without getting lost or trapped and so I got home about 1.00am

In Cambridge I got a couple of CDs � early Cage piano music for unprepared piano plus all M Feldman�s film music including the stuff he did for the Pollock film.

Also more material for the Detroit article � a study of hardbop and the Cambridge companion to blues and gospel. I am always surprised by how little the history of the blues is understood whenever I dip into where the academics have got to on that subject. They seem to get more confused as time goes. Gilbert has mentioned that he is into psychedelic funk which is great news for me.

previous - next