Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-05-06 - 11:22 p.m.

I had the idea this morning that it would be a good idea to create a practice diary � to keep track of the things being practiced and in fact rather than inflict the stuff on any readers of this page, I thought I�d use the KK diary. But I stumbled into a bug � wrote and posted it but it wouldn�t show � even though other bits of the page thought it was there. Hey Ho. People who practice for a living have had to be much more disciplined than I am . I think I have explained that I have a health objective rather than a musical one but inevitably musical ideas get thrown up. In fact one of these was a kind of post Fifths idea � a way of playing those changes emphasising the fifths or fourths. I also did some more on Confirmation � and a bit on the Poor Boy guitar solo.

Peter mailed about his strange adventures last week with Michaela the last of the Kremlin whiz kids. He has put 10SS up on the www.kwase-kwaza.org pheeww � including Pauls words and Robin�s and Mark�s version of Fifths. It needs a bit of tidying up but at last this stuff is on air!

I have taken that flute line I recorded at the week on a bit more � vibraphone and muted trumpet on long delay have put in an appearance.

Back in the office I did some follow up works to last week�s visits plus a bit more digging on the issue of procurement qualifications and then down to Warwick University to meet the Director of Music � Colin Touchin � for lunch. I think he quite liked the 10SS CD I left with him. We covered a lot of issues over lunch � including the Detroit practice of using old hardware in innovative ways. He has just bought a treble recorder for a premier of one of his pieces at Coventry Cathedral in two week�s time � I must try to get to that. Anyway he was really interesting to talk to � I hope that one or other of the leads he suggested bares fruit.

After lunch I looked in on the bookshop and found a Hendrix biography in the bargain bin. I have been reading the bits between the army and Chas Chandler � including his time with the Isleys. There is some very important stuff about the impact of Dylan going electric. Apparently Hendrix had a really big BD obsession right from Freewheelin � but the drama of the electric move was really inspiring for him. It seems to have a legitimised a broader scale of operations. Following that release Hendrix starts his own band with Randy California (subsequently with Spirit).

I sent a copy of Slightly All the Time Part2 (section A) to Gilbert. This goes from the early 50s in Detroit through to the time when the radical electronic music begins to be exported eg to Rome in time for the events of 1968 linking up with the Arte Povera movement. Between hard bop, Tamla and the ONCE festival crew a broad area is defined.

The next part will be the hardest � MC5 and the Stooges and then George Clinton�s music. Fortunately there are a lot of sites which seek to preserve the avant rock, free jazz, proto-punk of late 60s South East Michigan � it made such an impact on people that they don�t want to let the spirit die. I sent a copy of the White Panthers manifesto to Keith my colleague (mice ate his Beefheart interview) which he seemed to appreciate. I heard Jeff Buckley do Kick Out the Jams in Cambridge � I suppose having missed the original that�s as good a cover to witness as any.

I listened to the Temptations air-shot CD that I acquired almost by accident. I think I may need to dig deep into the Norman Whitfield productions � perhaps as psychedelic soul they are precursors of Cinton�s starstruck funk which inspired May and Sanderson. The idea of patterns and linkages just beyond my grasp is really good fun.

James mailed from Moscow � he is feeling a bit more at home having met another brit who is going to study History. He has seen Tolstoy�s dog�s kennel. I am sure this will stand him in good stead in later life.

previous - next