Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-04-08 - 12:25 a.m.

Invitation to Cambridge for lunch arrived today � mustn�t grumble � especially as I thought I had fumbled this particular lead. In fact I feel like having a good grumble but I wont because I shouldn�t.

Instead I am going to play Turbulent Indigo again � I bought it last week in a bundle from a remainder store � along with Forever Changes, the last Trane album and White Light White Heat. It has three of the Travelogue songs on it � Sex Kills, the Sire of Sorrow and The Borderline � for my money three of the really good ones. TI was made in 1994 and is a move away from the more synth driven albums of the 1980s. Wayne Shorter plays on 5 tracks. Rolling Stone thinks it stands comparison with Hejira and Blue. Sounds right to me. There�s even a Crosby co-written song � one of my weaknesses ever since Everybody has been Burned or Triad. (There�s a really hot five note Maclaughlin like chord in Triad that also crops up in Poor Boy. ) TI has all the old vices too � the roman a clef and the biographic confessions. This entry route to artworks is less derided than it was.

I have been doing a teamwork course today � interesting stuff. We had a four category team role template and in one exercise we had to act according to each role � sometimes good and sometimes bad � bad leader is so easy to do. So many exemplars.

I find team-worker hard to do.

My assessment of the typology was that it gave leaders quite a wide range of activities to pull together to make things go. The category of Team-Worker seems to me to span both task and people focus � both are extrovert. The intovert variant is termed Quiet Achiever � which seems to have an important role to carry out in spearheading the �Check� phase of the Demming Cycle. The Loner best fits into an aspect of the Act phase of the cycle � but its down to the Leader to make the rest of this phase happen.

Its so much easier to produce material between 5 and 8 am than the evening. Its especially helpful that its not quite clear what s being done until it done. I had a crack at Dancing Cheek to Cheek this morning

I have been trying to get my head round Bill Viola � the most metaphysical of the video artists. Not much success so far.

I have been thinking in the last few days how very influential Cage�s early piano music has been on me. I have been listening to Four Walls, Primitive, In the Name of the Holocaust, Quest , Our Spring Will Come and Ophelia � great titles too, Can�t wait to get Gilberts guitar parts for the latest stuff.

I suppose you can�t expect to make a great leap forward every day.

previous - next