Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-29 - 7:03 p.m.

Keith Jordan�s office is next door to mine. He did Linguistics at Bangor � dont larf - he got to interview Captain Beefheart when he was on tour in the UK � I expect for the student newspaper. Mice have eaten the interview. You probably think I am making it up . �Mice Ate My Interview� � a rare Zappa collaboration � that last bit I did make up. Alles Klar??

KJ has cable TV and he noticed something good on the Performance Channel last night which he was kind enough to tape for me. I have just been watching 30 mins on the boadroom video � the Cream Story � complete with interviews with Eddie Van Halen, Robert Cray, Buddy Guy, John M. It features the Beano cover photo � now rightly in the National Portrait Gallery. Frith (F) said in his Radio 3 interview that he was shocked by the sound of the guitar on that record. It is of course a Marshall 40 watt combo � allegedly my boss has one of these in purple � yes purple with original valves and speakers. I would say that in the first 30 mins they could have gone a bit further into the shocking sound of this device even in a civilised livery but it�s a minor quibble.

They do get the Baker-Bruce fun and games in the Graham Bond organisation are able to link that back to early 60s free jazz. They miss the extent to which Graham Bond paved the way in crossing from free jazz to RnB. I thought I had an mp3 of Maclaughlin Bond Baker and Bruce on the KK site but I can�t find it. Maybe its on the other PC - Gilbert poined me at the site so maybe he can remember where that is.

There was quite a bit of Clapton - Gibson 335 and Marshall stack � also just a snatch of an Epiphone solid which may be related to the one I tried in Denmark Street last year - just as well I didnt plug it in. Lots of Gibson EB � I tried the Epiphone reissue a while I ago and I really liked that. I wonder if R Jones still has his or whether he switched to Precision..

A lengthy clip of Im So Glad which took me right back to Dearborn a year ago and that extraordinary encore in the blues bar � what a ridiculous 5 days that was.

I listened to the Nite stuff again this morning and thought � hmmm maybe. I think the methodology of setting up a loop of the section to be covered and then just letting it run to record the whole evolving set of improvised ideas has some merits.

Yet more ideas about what tom play in Gfd today week � also another grove driven germ. I tried the Crafter into an overdriven British valve amp simulation over the top and was pretty taken with the result � sustain and edge plus the speed of the neck.

There is some stuff on the MDs i have brought here that I might incorporate. Some of this material is old enough for me to have forgotten why it was created and to just hear it as sound.

Gilbert told me that he had some SS clips up on his site and so I put some pointers up on the KK site and mailed a few interested parties including Technologystrategist in deepcover Cole (j).

Big package arrived from EMTA with some excellent research reports a couple of which I summarised down for colleagues � we are working this weekend on strategy � honest � its not all free petrol and progrock nostalgia here you know. I had to cancel lunch with Ruth and Stuart.

Ashley mailed with some interesting insights from Japan last week and I passed a few onto Graham � he came round to share a few thoughts with Keith and myself about the missing Japanese plutonium. We agreed it was not in the character of this nation to mess systems up � just ordinary systems to work wonderfully � why should a very special and world-critical system go wrong?

Stefan told me how to get to the gig tomorrow night. I told Rob (bassplayer Fellthru pere) to expect a mix between the Byrds and early G-Dead. I said to Stefan that some fellow diary-writers would share his enthusiasm for Camel. He thanked me for sending him the Marsalis and Shorter interviews.

Wondered about Cherokee Louise as I took my suit to the cleaners and booked a haircut in anticipation of my representational duties on Friday.

previous - next