Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-27 - 10:30 p.m.

From a Wayne Shorter interview: . "With Miles, I would say I experienced the joy of not rehearsing," he says. "In all those years with Miles we never had any rehearsals. Miles had a way of scanning the whole of something rather than measure for measure, and he could see the forest without looking at each tree. I remember years later, when we were all further along in our own things, Miles said to me: 'You know, that band we had - we covered a lot of ground, didn't we? It was something, wasn't it?' He liked that band."

We had a long meeting with EMTA � about to become the Sector Skills Council for Engineering � and we sketched a number of potentially rewarding research projects � leadership, the global automotive quality standard and the bottom line impact of investment in certain kinds of workforce development. Stefan and I were pretty pleased with how it went. I also set up some interviews with training companies on Procurement. EMTA has some quite radical ideas on logistics � but we had some stuff that they didn�t know about on the European scene. All quite tiring � working through lunch doesn�t suit me.

Today�s view seems to be that the French are also playing the game of buying prestige and influence with the USA in return for support the Iraq attack. Also that Powell and Blair are the key moderating influences � but where are they with Rice � that�s what I want to know?

I think there�s a latency issue on the flute on Robin�s song � I need to try a different path � especially as I have got a lot more MD capability here now

I have been listening to the R&B MD I made last night. Maybe I will edit it down to the beats that I really like.

1987 � Brian Rotman � Signifying Nothing � The Semiotics of Zero � can you think of a more brilliant title? Its in a series edited by Colin MacCabe who I remember from the good old days.�Language is corrupt and opaque to its own incoherence�. He quotes Derrida � �Language as a word betrays loose vocabulary � the temptation of cheap seduction, the passive yielding to fashion�. Woo sounds like everything�s fluxed up again. Derrida says that writing is not secondary to speaking � but what if speaking to people is secondary to talking to your dog � did he consider that? That the core �for-other-ness� that underpins the breakout from solipsism was first induced by dogs colonising our culture on the plains of Africa?

As for Wednesday week � I think the outtro is going to be based on a Tu-pac trac � call me a cornball if you will, It�s the way rhymes Davies with �save us�.

Where Rotman ends up is with the zero in binary arithmetic and logic � and the role of binary in the digital universe. As he puts it:

�Such a project would require us to unravel the claim that is made for Boolean logic � with its referential apparatus of truth and falsity � to be the grammar of all scientific and technical hence supposedly all culturally invariant true/false assertions about some prior �real world�.�

This is in the last para of the book � must see if he moved onto this.

Why fetishise two value logic? Why not three valued logic � where the third value is possible or probable. Or where the three values are must, mustn�t and can? Or can, can�t and might. Perhaps we know can and can�t more reliably than we know true and false.

previous - next