Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-27 - 5:33 p.m.

The weather yesterday � driving back from Gfd to Leantown late afternoon. The sky was doing pinks and blues all the way from the Ridgeway to the Fosse Way. I had Travelogue on � it was quite overwhelming.

I was thinking about Ludwig�s Tune this morning � I must be so dense � I have only just got the references to the deafness etc � inside a Bell Jar. Its from For The Roses � I think that�s where things really kick off. People say its predecessor � Blue � is the best but it seems to me that is the death of an old persona maybe more concerned with �prettiness�. The metaphysics kicks in with FTR. Actually �dense� is the right word for this album. As far as I concerned its like repeatedly being punched in the solar plexus.

I think maybe I am going to play some stuff Wednesday week in Gfd. There was an opportunity this week at the music society AGM and I thought I might do the long version of One Point Two � but I have performed that twice already. I wrote to Gillian apologising for not being able to make it. I enclosed the Cleveland CD plus the notes to 10ss and 4 5ths.

Some ideas are forming for Wednesday week � probably for solo guitar.

Having the Yamaha 3 speaker system makes a big difference to how things sound. I also have a Technics MD recorder taking the main feed off the mixer. Last night I was recording beats off digital radio (Kix and SBN) onto MD � even going through AD conversion the stuff sounded pretty sharp � and I will be able to go from one to the other on optical soon. Maybe there is a SPDIF path from the MD via USB to Wav � I think Tascam inadvertently let one slip through.

I listened this morning to the three pieces that have come-to-be after a fashion since Christmas. I didn�t think any of them were worth putting out of their misery yet awhile.

The flat is now absolutely bulging with gear � books � wires � the odd bit of furniture.

previous - next