Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-17 - 7:38 a.m.

Nick and I had a long lunch after the launch of the Cleaner Vehicles Partnership � he seemed interested in all the Huxley linkages and especially the idea that you could see in Point Counterpoint as an anticipation of the Pomo. We agreed a standard to work on. The launch itself was surprisingly good � I had boasted a bit about this development in Brno as an area where the UK might have something special and it seems there is a lot of international interest. Graham Smith of Toyota is the chair and his presentation was really first rate. I made a couple of really good contacts � some of them could lead in the direction of funding. A bit of a conflict where I had been planning to go to Liverpool � it looks more potentially rewarding to go to Coventry (which is only 6 miles away).

London had its awkward moments � especially driving back to Leamington � a lot harder than my regular journey from Guildford � really very tiring. But I was able to pick up copies of the Wire and Modern Painters at WH Smith in Victorua . Seems to be a morning after feeling about the cultural enthusiasm for British Art. Matthew Collings is moaning about some anonymous artist currently employed Berlin laying into him � I would guess he deserves it.

I brought a SPDIF co-axial lead back from Guildford and after a bit of hassle managed to get a digital signal off air through the USB428 and into Wavelab Lite � played around grabbing bits of this and that. The USB428 will mix a digital stereo signal and an analogue one � and put them both back through the input monitor. I am not sure it wants to record the analog signal � I suppose I just don�t have a mental model of what its trying to do.

The Wire has a strange interview Henry Grimes � who played bass on some seminal Albert Ayler sessions in the late 60s . He disappeared completely in the early 1970s and it seems did not know that virtually all the band is now dead � until the Wire discovered him in a LosAngeles hotel room and broke the news. If it wasn�t in print I wouldn�t have believed it!

All this travelling between London and Leamington is making me lose track of days.

previous - next