Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-11 - 11:58 a.m.

I am glad to see that the volume at www.kwase-kwaza.org is beginning to pick up after the holidays. I looked the country codes most regularly recorded � in descending order � Belgium, Canada, South Africa, Italy, France, Australia, Japan, Poland, Saudia Arabia. So these are rich countries � Japan, Saudi, Canada, Australia � plus countries which have some kind of musical connection with the material on the site � Belgium ,Italy and maybe France. South Africa needs no explanation but Poland is interesting � I wonder if this coming through as second wave country? The news pages are now the most visited. But I think it is time to start writing about the next CDs. I have posted copies of the full 35 minute versions to Mark and Gilbert.

I am very excited about Gilbert�s Nick Drake concert on Belgian radio. His interpretations will have moved on and there is an opportunity to get a good quality recording of the performance.

Yesterday I went to Wolverhampton which is north west of Birmingham. My route there took me under Spagehtti Junction which looks very dramatic when you are not on the M6. I lost my way in the spaghetti and ended up in deep Aston � burnt out vehicles etc and I got out of there as quickly as possible. Wolverhampton has trams � very well laid out with some interesting civil engineering work making it rather like a European town.

I enjoyed reading Robin�s piece about J Pastorius. In my mind he will go down in history not as a tearaway but as a great innovator and also as an accompanist. Some people think that his best work is to be found on the Joni Mitchell albums. I don�t know enough of his oeuvre to say whether this is right but it would be nice if it was true. I have ordered he new double from Amazon � also a copy of the study of electric miles _ Miles Beyond.

Driving back I listened to On The Corner - that is definitely one of most �beyond� CDs from that time that I have come across.

I looked into Regent guitars to see if by any chance the Nighthawk was in the sale. They showed me a room of guitars that are their slow moving items which includes a couple of Patrick Eggle single coil instruments. I started researching to see whether the kind of offer I might make eg on a Los Angeles would make any sense to them. The Nighthawk is nice and is around market price but that�s a bit more than I feel I ought to be paying for an instrument just rooted in fancy. In fact I�d probably be better off going through the Chinese flutes in the other music shop and picking one that has got that bit extra. That way I could have a flute in Guildford as well as Leamington.

I have to make up my mind whether I am going to try to get One Point Two onto the programme of the local musical society AGM informal concert.

previous - next