Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-11-11 - 4:51 p.m.

I was really encouraged by the amount of money that we raised with Cleveland�s recital on Saturdayl. Its going to be getting on for �600 when all the bits and pieces are added in and then there will be some CD sales to be added to that. Cleveland dropped round in the morning to give me some money from his ticket sales. I asked various people at church how they had enjoyed the evening and there was a strongly positive reaction all round. I mailed Peter Chatterton with a few thoughts especially about the power of the video. I had the feeling that I could have done more to get business in � especially by chivvying people that I had asked to help. But I think the quality of experience of the people who came was good and several of them got more engaged with the issues. I asked Yvonne if my introductory speech had been OK � and she gave it the thumbs up. The real punch came from the film and from Cleveland�s endorsement at the end of the recital.

Sarah and Geoffrey came to lunch � Geoffery plays bass and I first jammed with him 35 years ago � crumbs, we must be old. He has an interesting new gig in a kind of showband � female singer, trumpet and sax on the front line. They manage to play a fairly jazzy repertoire and still be paid reasonably well for it. Also he had been to see Ron Carter (bass play in Miles 2nd great 5tet) and we discussed Carter�s novel approach to the jazz quartet and his habit of melding different songs together � I said that the only time I saw the 5tet, before I even met him, that was how they played. Geoffery is a botanist (as another hobby) and he is in the process of drawing a new species (hybrid) that he discovered in a china clay pit in Cornwall and preparing the scientific drawing of it. It is for him to name the plant � I wonder if he will manage to get in a reference to Mingus who is his great hero. Sarah is becoming a lecturer for bereavement counselling which is her speciality. I gave them a copy of Plundafonix to give to Robin who lives in one of their cottages in Halstead � he was at Cambridge with us and teaches and composes music � I would say his stuff is a bit like Holst in the sense of spanning the English tradition and Indian influences (when I first met G he played sitar). I played them a couple of tracks from the Gilber Isbin/IC collaboration

James was working in Heals for six hours � he said it was really busy even though it was a Sunday � at least he gets paid double time.

I saw Lynn Sedgemore, principal of Guildford College, briefly in the evening. She was working on a Taize event with Regan von Schweitzer. I delivered Eike my keyboard to use. John Gillbe was playing French Horn and I thought the combination with the flute stops sounded really good. Lynn and I noted in passing that we both seemed to be part of the same lean engineering project. I had had to duck out of playing that particular event because the diary was just too crowded this weekend. Its just as well as we were in the middle of a major lost keys crisis � which fortunately I helped solve rather than cause.

But Robin is right I am at risk just now from too many commitments. I have to put together something for three weeks next Wednesday. I have a reasonable clue what I am doing but the lead time is about at the feasible minimum just now and I need to give this next event some concentrated thought. I just hope the word file sketch I have made is on the old PC.

In Anderton�s on Saturday I was wondering about the �100 version of Cubase or a �150 version of Wavelab 4. (At least on this portable PC I have managed to find a way of bi-passing the save exclusion on the demo version of the software which I have got � using the Hibernate facility.) The version of Cubase I am wondering about supports 24 bit recording, I am sure.

Anyway I was glad Robin liked the tracks which I sent � which include her �choir� material.

The other event I want to do in the next three months is the AGM of the Music Society that mounted the Cleveland concert . This would be with Peter Burge who is married to Jean the treasurer. We have sometimes done trios with another Geoffery who is a diplomat and a great bassoon player. This is the venue where I have done my most ambitious classical playing � maybe Poulenc�s flute sonata or some unaccompanied Bach. Latterly I have taken to working in material that is slightly more left field. I did the solo version of Clothes of Sand that I did at the ND Memorial concert at one of these AGMs too. I have never tried a tape piece but I think I might try One point Two. The date is some time next January.

previous - next