Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-30 - 6:58 a.m.

Harvest Festival � Robert talked about distributive justice � quite persuasively. My sister came to lunch � its her birthday on Tuesday. We gave her a copy of a recent history of gin in London � she works part time at Hogarth�s house in Chiswick and writes local history books. I also gave her a copy of Plundafonix to see what she might make of that. Jake especially enjoys her visits , partly because he remembers how much fun he has staying at her house and partly because we have a roast joint which means titbits for him.

In the evening we all went to see Insomnia - film which can appeal on lots of different levels � its almost tragic in structure. As everyone says � Robin Williams has a really good part for once.

I found that I was listening to the sound design more on the soundtrack � I think that comes from working with the dream chord � especially on the piano.

I saw Cleveland Williams this morning � we arranged to meet this week for the details of his 9 November recital. Rachael Bamfylde said that she an opportunity to hard sell some tickets on 19 October � a very useful idea. And I thought of some other people I might ask to drum up business. I mailed him copies of the poster and flyer which I now think looks OK.

I put another of Gilbert�s guitar tracks on Approximately 4 minutes � I played it several times and I really began to like it � especially the second half. I also did some more sketching around the dream sequence. Gilbert mailed back saying he liked the way version 1 of 4 mins had come out � but with some suggestions on EQ.

I jammed along a little on electric guitar. At the moment I am using the Duosonic through the Fender amp on the dirty channel. The guitar has been set so that it has a bit of a country edge � that�s the way they come back from that craftsmen � but its fun to go with that for a while. I think the guitar and amp are quite well suited. The Telecaster really goes well with a virtual Fender Bassman � a really bluesy sound and the top is compressed down. There is something peculiar about playing freeform on the guitar � to do with shapes on the fretboard � a different mentality to doing it on either a keyboard or wind instrument. I am very conscious of how Gilbert keeps his atonal lines under better control than me

Several e-mails from Peter Chatterton � the introduction of a banner to www.kwase-kwaza.org - plus a proposal to put to Robert for a kind of common services arrangement between this and related sites. Peter wants to have a go at one of the Flute Tunes which Gilbert and I have cooked up � I think this could be a really helpful thing � to see how someone else plays and produces the material.

Andrew K said in today�s diary that his advice to anyone with an aptitude for playing classical music would be to keep it up � and by implication he wonders whether the time he has spent in non-classical areas has been well-spent. Difficult issues � one can taste various kinds of music but there are unlikely to be more than one or perhaps two where one gets to be good � and there are so many chance factors influencing how things turn out. At one point, jazz was there to play and so I played it � and later I went back to performing classical music but very much as a tourist � always more confident when improvising.

James has fixed up his project in Moscow � for May, June and July next year � working on an English language newspaper. Sounds like a real adventure to me. Good for him.

previous - next