Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-30 - 10:07 p.m.

I have been thinking about the frequency ratio of 17 over 9 for the major seventh � as an infinite decimal this is 1.88888 recurring which makes it easy to use in wave processing software. A semi-tone step down is 0.944444. A tone step made by taking two steps up is 1.121107 etc compared with 1.125 using the more common 9 over 8 ratio which comes from taking a fifth step twice or with 1.122462 etc which is the equal tempered ratio. I suppose this path might lead one to prime number ratios for a whole note step instead of 324 over 289. One feels there must be primes lurking quite close to these bigger numbers.

Jonathan Harvey wrote a book about the process of composition � drawing on both his own experience and the writings of famous composers. He quotes Schoenberg saying that he found the twelve tone system liberated him to write freely as he had done in his youth.

I sent Gilbert a second version of approx 4 mins and started work on One point Two. 1.2 is a frequency ratio used to create the backing track � which is way off the one you would get from a 17 over 9 approach to the major seventh. I still have not got the balance or EQ quite right but when we crack it I think the piece will be really good

This week is a lot more structured than last � I actually had a business meeting today, Leamington tomorrow and two meetings and a gig on Wednesday. I was slightly surprised by how much I enjoyed talking about the car industry at the meeting � but just as well that I did. It seems that this contact could be quite useful in my new job.

James made the most of the Observer cheap Picador offer on his day off from Heal�s

I am playing four pieces which are new to me on Wednesday � I have decided to go the whole hog and try a Dream Sequence piece on real human beings � I can remember the first time I tried Fifths a few months back. I have also decided to try something that has come out of this diary group. To make the Dream track I used the USB/optical interface � it still clicks just under every minute but I thought for a live track this glitch would be a reasonable penalty to pay for a clearer source for the core wave forms.

I started to work on some quite strange musical ideas � one I sent to Gilbert just to see if it sparked anything with him. I have some sympathy with writers who feel they need some grand theory to licence the kind of new soundworlds that they create. I have probably said this before � but the process of going after new ways of constructing pieces is an odd one � half of me thinks it is just stupid to try to create coherent music by such outlandish and semi-concious means � the other half of me finds what comes out very exciting. Anyway I won�t be able to immerse myself so much in a week or so � so why not go out on a limb while there is a chance for it?

Well if everyone else thinks it sounds like complete garbage � that could settle it.

previous - next