Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-09-19 - 11:47 p.m.

I listened to Homemade Music Radio from GAJOOB on the net based in Salt Lake City � it is part of a suite of sites which promote home recording and international music collaboration. I found it in response to an e-mail from Peter Chatterton who had an idea about some IT infrastructure to support people selling CDs to support charities. I was trying to cast around and see what else already existed. There seems to be a network of people who collaborate to make works from a common stock of loops, for example. Another element is something called Shortrun Music which offers to produce shortruns of CDs for amateurs at tolerable prices Hmmm great guitar solo on Dino Demuro�s track �Slept Thru My Death� � and what a title! If they played this stuff more on Radio 1 it would get more of my attention. The Zanstones �Cedar Row Must Go� sounds good too

Peter and I got round to putting up some material about Cleveland Williams recital in Guildford on 9 November on www.kwase-kwaza.org - including the programme that he is planning � its very wide ranging. I had a go at an A5 flyer for this event which Annie Dixon says she will help circulate. I think I will develop a little package comprising an A4 version of the flyer and the programme which I will put through some front doors around here � its only a five minute walk to where the recital will be.

Gilbert pointed me in the direction of some more great John Maclaughlin sites. One has an amazing collection of Jmac from the early 1960s including a 9 minute track of a �live� session where Graham Bond is playing alto and Jmac is doing jazzy rhythm guitar from 1963. Its hard to over estimate the significance of this music � its from the same artistic circles that a great host of British �blues� based music sprang from including a great list of now famous names. The recording was made before Bond switched to the Hammond � at a time when his imaginative commitment and vision in jazz was being seriously compared to Eric Dolphy. I am putting up on the file in Realplayer format in a Forum on www.kwase-kwaza.org . There�s a registration loop but its well worth going through it to get at this astonishing bit of music history.

I spent a morning jamming with G Bond in Cambridge in July 1969 � by this time he has switched to the Hammond � he was very into secret doctrines by this stage and interested from that point of view in my choice of Philosophy as a subject of study.

One of the sites Gilbert sent me has a very good collection of lead-sheets. I printed off the head to The Sorcereor � a Herbie Hacock composition for the second great Miles 5tet. It�s a pretty challenging piece on paper although it has always been one of my absolute favourites from that repertoire. On the original recording HH plays this profound impressionist solo. I have a live version from the 1967 European tour on CD which was the first time I saw Miles � I am trying to find it.

I finally got round to doing some serious flat hunting in Leamington and Kenilworth.

previous - next